What Are SAE, JWL, VIA Standards | Wheel Ratings Explained

In the world of automobiles, the importance of ensuring safe and reliable wheels cannot be overstated. Wheel rating standards serve as guidelines for manufacturers to ensure that their wheels meet the necessary safety standards. In this blog, we will explore the three most common wheel rating standards - SAE, JWL, and VIA - and their intricacies.

What Are SAE, JWL, VIA Standards | Wheel Ratings Explained

SAE Ratings

SAE J2530 is a set of regulations established by the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) for wheel testing. SAE ratings ensure that wheels can handle the minimum load carrying capacity and are compatible with the car's unsprung weight. According to SAE J2530 standards, wheels undergo several tests, including radial fatigue test, cornering fatigue test, impact test, and torsion test. The tests evaluate the wheel's structural rigidity, durability, and resistance to damage during road conditions.

Based on the test results, SAE assigns three ratings: J2530, J2530 X, and J2530 XX. J2530 is the minimum standard for passenger cars, while J2530X and J2530XX are meant for heavier vehicles. The rating classification varies based on the testing results, with X and XX denoting a higher degree of strength and durability.

JWL Ratings

The Japanese Light Alloy Wheel (JWL) standard is used mainly by Japanese manufacturers. It is similar to the SAE system with additional requirements that the wheels must undergo before approval. JWL testing includes the same tests as the SAE ratings, with the additional requirement of a roundness test that ensures the wheels are free of deformities.

The main difference between JWL and SAE ratings is that JWL mandates manufacturers to have their wheels inspected and approved by a certified Third-Party lab. This ensures the credibility of the rating and its consistency.

VIA Ratings

The Vehicle Inspection Association (VIA) is a non-profit organization founded in Japan in 1987. The VIA standard is highly respected in the automotive industry and is based on the JWL standard. The VIA standard requires manufacturers to follow strict guidelines when creating wheels, ensuring that they meet specific quality standards. In order to receive certification under the VIA standard, wheel manufacturers must produce their wheels based on VIA's design specifications and go through rigorous testing.

One of the significant requirements that distinguish VIA from other standards is that it tests wheels with different tire sizes and vehicles. The testing includes deformation testing, durability testing, tensile testing, and more.

The VIA certification process is meticulous and involves independent third-party testing to ensure its validity, making it a highly credible rating.

High-Quality Aftermarket Wheels From Velgen Wheels

In conclusion, wheel rating standards play a crucial role in maintaining safety and reliability in the automotive industry. The SAE, JWL, and VIA standards are the most comprehensive and widely recognized standards in the industry. At Velgen Wheels, our wheels undergo rigorous testing to SAE, JWL, and VIA standards to ensure you are getting a high-quality wheel at an affordable price. Check out our full selection of aftermarket wheels.

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.